In early 2017, the world's most sophisticated concert hall opened … keyboard_arrow_down This book is an insider's travel report.

Hamburg-based photographer Peter Hundert was given the privilege to portray the heroes of Hamburg’s new Elbphilharmonie, this most sophisticated and versatile concert hall.

With his book “BACKSTAGE Elbphilharmonie” he takes the viewer with him on a journey behind the scenes of this remarkable place: onto and behind the stage, into the technical sections, to the roof and into artist’s dressing rooms; to rehearsals, sound checks and into shows. To after-work drinks and late-night grand-organ tuning and so much more.

His work is not dedicated to artists alone, but also to all those who make the miracle “Elbphilharmonie” possible day by day: his witty, kaleidoscopic portraits and original quotes pay homage to all the hall’s protagonists – from world stars to window cleaners.

Images and quotes from more than 100 shows, rehearsals and sound checks provide authentic testimony of the new Hamburg landmark and a privileged glimpse behind the scenes: no other photographer got so close as often as Peter did.

His photographs are sparkling views of the people that have brought this extraordinary venue to life.

With their contributions, Alan Gilbert, the new chief conductor of the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester, and Bryce Dessner, composer of contemporary classical music and lead-guitarist with Grammy-winning indie-rock band The National, two artists from very different genres shed a light and their very personal view on the Elbphilharmonie and its significance to the cultural world.

Shop here now

BACKSTAGE Elbphilharmonie can be purchased from your local book store or –  exclusively handsigned by the author here.

For booking requests please contact Peter Hundert via his website.

Der Hamburger Fotograf Peter Hundert durfte seit der Eröffnung Anfang 2017 die Helden der Elbphilharmonie, dieses modernsten und vielseitigsten Konzerthauses der Welt, begleiten und portraitieren.

In seinem Buch „BACKSTAGE Elbphilharmonie“ nimmt er den Betrachter mit auf seine Reise hinter die Kulissen dieses unglaublichen Ortes: auf und hinter die Bühne, in die Gebäudetechnik und in Künstlergarderoben; zu Proben, Soundchecks und Konzerten. Zu Feierabendbieren, nächtlichen Orgelstimmungen und vielem mehr.

Gewidmet hat er seine Arbeit dabei nicht ausschließlich den Künstlern, sondern auch all jenen, die das Wunder Elbphilharmonie Tag für Tag erst möglich machen: Seine originellen, kaleidoskopischen Portraits und Originalzitate huldigen allen Protagonisten des Hauses gleichermaßen; vom Weltstar bis zum Fensterputzer.

Peter Hundert gibt ihnen allen mit „BACKSTAGE Elbphilharmonie“ ein Gesicht – und eine Stimme.

Bilder und O-Töne aus weit über hundert Veranstaltungen, Proben und Soundchecks sind authentische, intime Zeugnisse des neuen Hamburger Wahrzeichens und zugleich ein privilegierter Blick hinter die Kulissen: Niemand war so oft und so nah am Geschehen wie Peter Hundert.

Seine Bilder sind begeisternde Blicke auf die Menschen, die dieses außergewöhnliche Haus mit Leben füllen und zugleich in einen jeweils sehr persönlichen Dialog mit ihm eintreten.

Mit Alan Gilbert, dem Chefdirigenten des NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchesters, und Bryce Dessner, dem erfolgreichen Komponisten zeitgenössischer Klassik und Leadgitarristen der Grammy-prämierten Indie-Rockband The National, steuern zwei sehr unterschiedliche Künstler in textlichen Gastbeiträgen ihren persönlichen Blick auf die Elbphilharmonie und deren Bedeutung für die Welt der Kultur bei.

Kaufmich-Quadr-Rund

BACKSTAGE Elbphilharmonie können Sie über Ihren örtlichen Buchhandel oder hier exklusiv vom Autor handsigniert beziehen.

Buchungsanfragen richten Sie gern direkt an Peter Hundert Photography.